Our board

Jeff Stoll, MPH
Board President

Jeff Stoll is the founder and owner of Jeff Stoll Public Health & Environment Consulting, LLC in Westminster, Colorado. He has 30 years of experience in administration, management, planning, policy development, public and governmental relations and supervising and coaching professional staff.

Mary V. Davis, DrPH, MSPH
Board Vice President

Dr. Mary Davis is principal and owner of Project Y Evaluation Services, LLC which focuses on public health evaluation and applied research consulting, training, and technical assistance services. She has extensive experience leading applied research and evaluation projects in a variety of settings, teaching evaluation methods, and providing capacity building assistance to organizations, such as coalitions, public health departments, foundations, and human service agencies. In her 25 year career, she has worked in a range of settings, including a public health institute at the University of North Carolina, Gillings School of Global Public Health as well as a national member association and a for-profit consulting firm. Dr. Davis’ areas of expertise include preparedness, health department accreditation, quality improvement, and partnerships.

Stephanie Parnell, CPA
Board Treasurer

Stephanie Parnell is a certified public accountant and a shareholder in Hanson&Co.’s accounting services practice. She has over a decade of experience advising growing small to mid-sized closely held businesses on accounting related issues.

Georgina Lucas, MSW
Board Secretary

Georgina Lucas has been a leader in collaborative health systems change within nonprofit, academic, corporate, and public sectors for over 35 years. In 2014, before relocating to Colorado, she served as Deputy Director for the Yale School of Medicine’s Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program where she built and managed a training program for physicians in community-partnered health research. Before coming to Yale, she was the founding director of the Center for Innovative Practice at Smith College School for Social Work where she developed community/graduate school partnerships for training and research.  She also has taught health policy and management courses at the University of Connecticut. Prior to her academic career, she held leadership roles in two corporations focused on health issues and was the staff director of a Governor’s commission on financing long term care.

Melvin Bush, CIC
Board Member

Melvin Bush is a certified insurance counselor and president of Insurance Design & Placement, Inc., which is headquartered in Denver. The firm focuses on assisting hospitality clients with claims and loss control.

Tom Gonzales, MPH, REHS
Board Member

Serves as Public Health Director for Larimer County Department of Health and Environment (LCDHE). Gonzales holds a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health from Colorado State University and a Master in Public Health from the University of Northern Colorado, and is a Registered Environmental Health Specialist. Prior to joining LCDHE, he was Deputy Public Health Director at El Paso County Public Health overseeing Emergency Preparedness and Response, Environmental Health and the Laboratory. Previously, Tom was Program Manager of Environmental Health at Clark County Public Health (WA) addressing on-site wastewater management and drinking water. He led the environmental health response and recovery activities after four wildfires and two flood events in El Paso County. In 2013, Tom was awarded the Milton M. Miller Award, CEHA’s highest honor for an environmental health professional. Recently, he was appointed by the Governor to serve on the Colorado Air Quality Control Commission. Tom and his wife are blessed with two young boys. Together, they enjoy the Colorado outdoors, including hiking, fishing and hunting.

Jon Samet, MD, MS
Board Member

Dr. Jonathan Samet, a pulmonary physician and epidemiologist, is Dean and Professor of Epidemiology and Environmental & Occupational Health at the Colorado School of Public Health.  His career has centered on epidemiologic research on threats to public health and using research findings to support policies that protect population health. His research has addressed indoor and outdoor air pollution, smoking, radiation risks, cancer etiology and outcomes, and sleep-disordered breathing.

Thomas M. Vernon, MD
Board Member

Dr. Thomas Vernon is a retired public health physician, formerly the Colorado state epidemiologist and subsequently Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Health. He has a deep and longstanding commitment to public health in Colorado and to its citizens’ well-being. Throughout his career, he has served on the boards of numerous nonprofit organizations focused on public health, including as chairman of the CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practice and as chairman of the boards of the National Center for Healthy Housing and the American Social Health Association.

Lawrence Volmert, JD
Board Member

Larry Volmert is an attorney, recently retired after more than four decades of practicing law. His practice focused on representing and advising clients in various industries regarding environmental regulatory issues and requirements. He concentrated on air quality and climate change, but also helped clients in matters involving water quality, hazardous waste and the National Environmental Policy Act. He also serves on the Board of the Regional Institute of Health and Environmental Leadership, an organization that works closely with Trailhead.

John Muth, MD, MPH, FACPM

John Muth received his B.S. degree from St. Bonaventure University. He trained in medicine at New York Medical College and went on to become a specialist in Ob-Gyn. He subsequently served in the Commissioned Corps of the United States Public Health Service with various assignments stationing him in Ohio, Louisiana, Arizona, Hawaii and Alaska, where he treated First Nations peoples and native Alaskans and Hawaiians, built and managed clinics, and ran hospitals. After retiring from federal service, he moved to Colorado Springs as Director of the El Paso County Health Department for almost 20 years. He was one of the original Board members of Trailhead (when it was CFPHE), serving as treasurer for almost 20 years. Now retired, he remains a lifetime member of CPHA and an emeritus board member of his local medical society. He continues his medical activities as a volunteer in Mexico, Guatemala and Africa and as a mentor for budding students of public health.